What I Read in 2020 + Some Favourites!

Well it’s no secret that 2020 sucks, but I’m going to share something that made my 2020 better: my favourite books! These are my favourite books of 2020 so far in chronological order, and I’ll keep adding to this until January 2021. Clink this link to visit my 2020 year in books, and let me know if you want any of those books reviewed!

For starters, I have read 52 books in 2020, and my goal for the year was 20 books. I always set it lower because I get worried that my courses are going to be too much for me and then I won’t be able to read as much, but since my major is English, my courses usually add to my reading challenge as I’m required to read a lot of books. As you can see in the photo below, the shortest book I read was The Rez Sisters by Tomson Highway, and the Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer, and I read a wide variety of books.

As a bit of a recap, this year I read YA novels, classics, some local literature, a lot of Greek mythology, and quite a few re-reads. There are some books that I enjoyed that didn’t make this “favourites” list, such as The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black, Love, Creekwood by Becky Albertalli, Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë, I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You: A Letter to my Daughter by David Chariandy,The Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan…the list goes on.

Although my average rating for the year is 3.5 stars, I did read a lot of books which I loved, so let’s get right into some favourites!

Call Down the Hawk – Maggie Stiefvater

Read April 10, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

At first I wasn’t sure if this was going on my favourites list, but after reading this I could not think of anything else. I feel like all my posts are just me obsessing over Maggie Stiefvater, so I truly don’t know what else I can say to express this ahahahah. Basically, The Raven Cycle changed my life, and when I found out that Maggie was making a series all about my favourite character Ronan (read about that here), I instantly knew I would love it with all my heart. I was right.

Shocked 30 Rock GIF
Actual footage of me after Maggie announced the series.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Re-read on May 19, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

*Buddy read this book with Procrastireader*

To be honest, I was terrified to re-read this book because of how much I loved it the first time. There was no need to worry because I am being 100% honest when I say it was WAY BETTER the second time, if that’s even possible. I understood everything this time, and caught on to quite a bit that I didn’t the first time through.

I couldn’t stop myself from laughing the whole time reading this. These characters amaze me, and their unlikely chemistry as a group was what made this book for me. I absolutely adore this book with all my heart.

Best Fantasy Books GIFs | Gfycat

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Re-read on July 14, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Let me tell you I re-read this book at the most perfect time. By that I mean I was really going through a tough time mentally when I re-read this, because of things going on in my life, as well as personal issues I had to deal with. It was this, as well as my aspiration to be in the writing/publishing industry as Esther does, which really made this book hit hard, but I’m glad I re-read it when I did.

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Read on July 17, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Oh my god this book was so fun! Not only did I learn about more about Singaporean culture, customs, food, and expressions, but I got completely immersed in a world full of drama and riches, and it was so juicy. My favourite character was definitely Astrid (you can read about my love for her here), but most of all I was definitely swooning over the descriptions of food which always sounded so delicious!!!!

Hungry Emma Stone GIF

Twilight & Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer

Read July 20, 2020 and August 7, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Okay really this whole series should be on here because it is truly AMAZING. My favourite part is of course Jacob Black, but as a fan of The Vampire Diaries, I was drawn to the cheesy love triangle and the mess of vampires and werewolves. I didn’t read this series until this year because I honestly thought I would hate it, but then my sister convinced me to watch the movies with her and I was in love. I immediately bought all the books – including the new Midnight Sun – and spent my Summer devouring the series.

wattpad #werewolf You are Bella's younger sister. After the battle which  nearly caused your Niece's life th… | Jacob black twilight, Twilight jacob,  Taylor lautner

A Curse so Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Read August 12, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

This book is a modern but fantastical take on Beauty and the Beast, so I was super excited to read it because of my love for Belle. I didn’t really get that Belle feel from Harper, but I still loved this book so much, though it was more because of the characters than the story itself. I loved seeing their relationships develop, not only Rhen and Harper’s, but Grey and Harper’s. You can read more of my thoughts here!

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

Re-read on October 5, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Even though this is a re-read, I want to say that this is my favourite book I read in 2020. What’s crazy is I know I did not enjoy this book as much the first time I read it, but this time I could not contain my love. I love these boys – and Blue – so much, and I can easily say they are my favourite characters in any book I’ve EVER read. I think what makes me love it so much is that, while it’s fantasy, it’s written in a way that surrounds average everyday teens, and the magical aspects of it are not entirely impossible, which makes it seem more real and possible. Also I knew it was love because everything shocked me and made me happy as if I hadn’t read it before.

Ahhhh I just want to re-read it again and again and again!!!!

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue – V.E. Schwab

Read on December 28, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I’m kind of surprised that this book made this list because I wasn’t the biggest fan of it for the first 150 pages or so. It really started to pick up for me when Luc and Addie’s relationship started to change – I just found that really interesting. The whole concept of this book was super cool, and I really enjoyed this read.

Midnight Sun – Stephenie Meyer

Read December 31, 2020

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Okay I loved this book way too much. I almost think I might be team Edward now – which I never thought I’d say. However, I also watched The Goblet of Fire like 2 days before I read this and all I could think of was Cedric, so that probably influenced that a bit. Hearing Edward’s perspective was oddly much more like the movies for me…but I enjoyed it a lot more.

This is probably my favourite book I read this year.

how can you not love this face

That’s a wrap for 2020! Check this post to see what I’m looking forward to next year!

Leave a Reply